Tonality and Light

 Tonality and LightTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

The light hit this flower just right. In post processing I first wanted to further mute the background where the light had fallen off and ensure no distractions. I then wanted to bring out many of the details and used a Nik filter to do that. I find with Lightroom and other programs that auto settings tend to compensate for problems like dark photos, even when this is not the case. Inevitably in shooting animals at a distance, environmental issues like mist or moisture will wash out a photograph. In fact in many of my photographs I tone down the highlights for just this reason.

8 responses

  1. Soft and beautiful just beautiful!

    Like

    September 27, 2014 at 3:02 am

  2. Beautiful Victor. I’ve found that white really does have to have the right light otherwise it looks too bright even with adjustments in PP. I’ve also found that it can look yellowish if the light isn’t right.

    Like

    September 27, 2014 at 10:39 am

  3. Lovely – I feel that I could almost touch the soft petals

    Like

    September 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    • Thanks. Comments like this make sharing worthwhile.

      Like

      September 27, 2014 at 5:55 pm

  4. Pat

    Beautiful. Love the detail shown in the white petals.

    Like

    September 27, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    • Thanks. I find it very interesting to work with photographs like this.

      Like

      September 27, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

