Classic Bee

Classic BeeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

It’s a classic in the sense that this is what the books say a macro should look like and then tell you how to do it in the studio. This shot was taken in the wild and I was just plain lucky that the background ended up as it did. I am not keen to sedate or kill insects just to able to photograph them; I leave that to entomologists for their studies. For me context is important and except for the fact that this fat bee is pulling down the plant it has landed on, I would have worried about this looking like a studio shot. Photography often tests our limits, where we go, the lengths we take to get the shot; we all have choices to make. However interested I am, I do not see myself crawling around in abandoned buildings although some have turned this into a wonderful area for photography. But then again I never imagined myself hunting spiders to photograph J

12 responses

  1. Beautiful image. Yes, lucky on the background but it sure worked.

    Like

    October 11, 2014 at 1:20 am

  2. Always when I see your superb photography. I wish I had the patience and commitment

    Like

    October 11, 2014 at 3:34 am

  3. You are really the only one that can make a bee look like he’s wearing a fur coat. Beautiful!

    Like

    October 11, 2014 at 11:38 am

  4. Haven’t tried macro photography yet, but you are certainly a role model. Great detail!

    Like

    October 11, 2014 at 4:47 pm

  5. Pat

    Lovely macro.

    Like

    October 11, 2014 at 7:49 pm

  6. You always get a “wow” when I view your macros, but this one was a Wow! out loud. 🙂

    Like

    October 12, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Leave a Reply

