Gatineau Landscape

Gtineau LandscapeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

­­­­­­­­This photograph was the result of a walk in a place we had never been to before. I was not sure what I’d see and was not going to carry massive amounts of gear to cover every possibility. I ended up not having much of the right equipment. We saw wonderful insects, great landscapes etc., all of which required a tool I had left behind. That did not stop me from trying but the day’s results were poor and the photograph above is one of the few worth keeping. I have taken to looking at many of my photographs in Lightroom in black and white mode, just to see if there is potential. This photograph looked fine in black and white and in color until I started processing it and discovered that the range of light and color was just not working out. It looked more like an overgrown jungle than a forest. In black and white the water took on a more central role and I thought that was more pleasing to the eye.

6 responses

  1. It’s sometimes frustrating not having the right gear. I often carry too much out of fear of that. Then it spoils the walk. There is always a compromise and a chance to be more creative. This turned out very well.

    Like

    November 3, 2014 at 1:21 am

    • Thanks. Its one of those unfortunate problems like figuring out how prepare to photograph birds in sub-zero weather.

      Like

      November 3, 2014 at 3:25 pm

  2. Nelson

    In my case rarely a photo taken in the forest will give good results in B/W unless I am able to catch part of the sky and it must not be cloudy. If there is too much green, then the B/W is just too dark

    Like

    November 3, 2014 at 8:52 am

  3. It certainly looks good in black and white to me.

    Like

    November 6, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

