Random Cowboy (and a Response to a suggestion)

Random CowboyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I am a big fan of street photography but like concert photography the options are increasingly limited as people and artists shut down photographers. Street photography means getting people, stories and portraits – in other words faces; hard to do without being seen even when shooting from the hip. One area of photography I have not had the opportunity to try as much as I would like is portraiture. Street photography is a poor substitute. This photograph is of someone in a crowd that I was able to isolate against what I felt was an interesting background. I blurred the background a bit more to keep the focus on him.

Earlier this week it was suggested that I do my color photograph of the Miridae Plant Bug from Monday (original: https://rakmilphotography.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/shapes-and-other-things/ ) in black and white. Here it is:

Sah[es and Other things in B&W

4 responses

  1. Well, I like the street photo a lot. Do more – for your own sanity as well. lol

    Like

    December 4, 2014 at 1:02 am

  2. I am way to fearful to taking someone’s photo in a crowd. I’ve done it once or twice and once someone shouted at me. I like the clarity of your cowboy shot a lot.

    Like

    December 4, 2014 at 10:43 am

    • I have only been shouted at once for taking a picture of someone’s dog. I have seen photographers stop people and ask if they can take their picture. But I share your concern generally about street photography.

      Like

      December 4, 2014 at 10:46 am

  3. I like the B&W. The structure of the leaf is perhaps less overpowered by the green but it’s a matter of taste.

    Like

    December 5, 2014 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

