A Street Scene in Montreal (and a note about this Blog)

A Street Scene in MontrealTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

It’s sometimes hard to capture the mood and intensity of a place. Our eyes see a wider range of light and detail than our cameras. This has always been a challenge for me with street scenes. I think in part that is due to imagination and the influence of the cinema. I was very careful with this shot to avoid halos on the buildings and to correct chromatic aberrations. I also used some detail enhancement for the texture and color.

This is the anniversary of my blog and website. Many thanks to all who follow me, visit the site, like it, and comment. It keeps the pressure on me to produce more and better work.

 

26 responses

  1. Happy Anniversary! Keep up the good work 😄

    Like

    January 29, 2015 at 2:02 am

    • Thanks I have every intention of continuing, hopefully using what I have learned.

      Like

      January 29, 2015 at 6:15 am

  2. Happy anniversary indeed. And yes blogging with photography is a strong motivator.

    Like

    January 29, 2015 at 2:31 am

    • Thanks. If it were not Arctic cold and snowing, my motivation would be higher this morning. Spring cannot come soon enough.

      Liked by 4 people

      January 29, 2015 at 6:17 am

  3. It does happen frequently that I do take a street scene and when I open the photo on my computer, I just flush it because I did not capture the essence of what I saw, it is not easy… and happy anniversary

    Liked by 1 person

    January 29, 2015 at 6:50 am

    • Thanks. Often I find a photo like this is still a bit conceptual until after a bit of post processing to clarify the scene.

      Like

      January 29, 2015 at 7:11 am

  4. Happy Anniversary Victor! I love your blog so much. Thank you for sharing your work.

    Like

    January 29, 2015 at 10:22 am

    • Thank you and I will persevere :). It’s my passion.

      Like

      January 29, 2015 at 2:12 pm

      • You’re welcome, and I’m so glad. It’s so nice to be here with all kinds of others who have a similar passion!

        Like

        January 29, 2015 at 2:38 pm

  5. Happy Anniversary 🙂

    Like

    January 29, 2015 at 11:26 am

  6. Pat

    Happy anniversary! There’s always something to learn here.

    Like

    January 29, 2015 at 7:31 pm

    • Thanks. It’s fun to figure things out and pass it along.

      Like

      January 29, 2015 at 7:41 pm

  7. mk

    Happy Anniversary, Victor, from one of your friends down south.

    Like

    January 30, 2015 at 10:08 am

  8. Happy Blogoversary, Victor. It is our pleasure to follow your work and the insights you offer are always worth the visit!

    Like

    January 30, 2015 at 8:57 pm

  9. Happy Anniversary, thank you for your like,photography has always been a fascination of mine,still have a lot to learn and I am still trying to find my way
    Sheldon

    Like

    February 14, 2015 at 4:19 pm

  10. Victor: Great shot! Nice lines and DOP.

    Like

    February 16, 2015 at 5:58 pm

  11. Well done to you, only halfway to my first year myself, and I totally get what you mean about coming home and finding your pix don’t live up to the experience. I find this almost always the case when taking pictures from a height e.g.. a clifftop etc. It’s hard to show that distance to the ground below. Love the photo above though. 😉

    Like

    February 25, 2015 at 9:05 am

  12. Than you for visiting my site. I am so pleased that you like my” Boats in Snow “.
    I am so glad to see your beautiful work, Victor. Happy Anniversary to you too!!

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 2:30 pm

  13. Side wall with art looks nice. Nice pic.

    Like

    December 14, 2016 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

