Times Change

Times ChangeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Cities are not static, they change; commerce changes and even major name stores go out of business. Montrealers might recognize this as a former Steinberg’s grocery store (and yes I put the apostrophe back just to be politically incorrect). This background will be meaningless to most who see this photograph, which opens up an interesting area for discussion. I contend that even if a photograph tells a story it may not be the same for everyone; the photograph needs to stand on its own with its own internal story of color, texture and composition. If I am successful my photo is of interest to two audiences: those who know the history and those who do not. Either way I will have succeeded and be very pleased.

7 responses

  1. I often wonder how these graffiti artists get into the places they do! Great shot, Victor!

    Liked by 2 people

    February 28, 2015 at 1:20 am

  2. Me too, Emilio!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 28, 2015 at 5:37 am

  3. Nelson

    That is probably one of the very few Steinberg sign still left or the only one, I do not remember seeing one in decade

    Liked by 1 person

    February 28, 2015 at 7:42 am

  4. There is a lot to this photo and even though I don’t know the store, the sign speaks of an era (50s perhaps?). The rust, graffiti, the pigeon looking down all add to the story. I love the angles, so much the better in red.

    Like

    February 28, 2015 at 12:09 pm

  5. How right you are! But the funniest thing is that I think I know exactly where that is, since I lived less than a block from there (this is at the corner of Dollard and Van Horne, correct?).

    Like

    March 11, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Leave a Reply

