The Last Poppies (Two Photographs)

The Last Poppies-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was tempted to post this on November 11, but I suspected poppies would be a popular theme on WordPress that day. These are the same poppies in both photographs and I tried different angles for effect. Both were processed exactly the same way, and while I looked at doing them in Black and White, it was clearly not the best idea. This is another occasion where I work on something interesting and won’t let go until I am certain I have what I want “in the can” (as we used to say in the film days).

The Last Poppies

19 responses

  1. Fantastically soft photos! Nice flowers, and great contrast between the red and green colours. What lens did you use here?

    Happy weekend and kind regards,
    Tieme

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 6:30 am

  2. lovely!

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 7:02 am

  3. I adore the first photo – the simplicity is wonderful. It would make a great stencil for dish ware! 🙂 Where do I order my set?

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 11:31 am

    • Thanks. The poppies have back in the same spot for at least two years. One of my favorite spots.

      Like

      March 8, 2015 at 12:20 pm

      • Yes, this is an annual self-sowing poppy. Take a few of the seed heads once they have split at the top next summer and spread them around – then in 2016, you’ll have quite the show!

        Like

        March 8, 2015 at 12:26 pm

  4. I love poppies. Their color doesn’t always translate easily as an image either. California’s state flower is the poppy. They are so pretty! Nicely done .

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    • Thanks. The poppy has special connection for the Commonwealth and especially Canada with respect to WW1. All around a beautiful subject to photograph.

      Liked by 2 people

      March 8, 2015 at 6:03 pm

      • You’re welcome! Oh I’ll have to google it.

        Like

        March 8, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  5. Lovely!

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 7:28 pm

  6. Pat

    Beautiful!

    Like

    March 8, 2015 at 7:48 pm

  7. The first image is truly stunning. Si

    Like

    March 9, 2015 at 7:18 am

  8. I love the first one!

    Like

    March 9, 2015 at 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

