Wood Duck in Color

Wood Duck in ColorTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

By the time the wood ducks get comfortable with coming closer to shore and with humans the fall has made the colors change and the reflections in the water are psychedelic. One objective for photography should be impact. Impact comes with punchy light and color, great subjects and composition. We want our audience stunned, not in a hard sell style, but still struck by the final product.

20 responses

  1. great colours

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 9:00 am

  2. Beautiful coloring.

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 10:20 am

  3. “Stunned” and “struck” are good adjectives for this one – I’d say you met your objective!

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 12:06 pm

  4. Brilliant and beautiful!

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 12:58 pm

  5. Gorgeous! I’ve never seen one in person.

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    • Thanks. I never saw one until I got into nature photography three years ago. Still have not seen a few other of the more colorful and rare ducks. Glad you like it.

      Like

      March 19, 2015 at 3:13 pm

      • You’re welcome. I’m out on my deck right now and there are hooded merganser ducklings out! I’m too far away though for a picture. Looking through my high powered binoculars. 🙂

        Like

        March 19, 2015 at 3:15 pm

        • I have a bunch of posts coming up on those. Hard to shoot very skittish. Ferocious fishing. Lovely birds though.

          Liked by 1 person

          March 19, 2015 at 3:29 pm

          • They are very skittish.. The couple times I’ve gone down to the lake on a non-golf day, I notice they don’t like me coming anywhere near. And yes! They fish almost all day. Amazing.

            Like

            March 19, 2015 at 3:38 pm

          • I’ll look forward to them!

            Like

            March 19, 2015 at 8:25 pm

  6. I used to paint wooden ducks for my dad when he went hunting. They are so beautiful with bright colors. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 5:12 pm

  7. beautiful!

    Like

    March 19, 2015 at 11:56 pm

  8. Pat

    Such a beautiful creature. The plumage is amazing.

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 4:10 pm

  9. I like the color of the duck as much as that of the water. Great shot!

    Like

    March 21, 2015 at 11:30 pm

    • Thanks. Wonderful opportunity. When it happens I cannot resist taking advantage.

      Liked by 1 person

      March 22, 2015 at 8:47 am

Leave a Reply

