iPhone Landscape (and my Gallery of Bees for 2014)

Iphone LandscapeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I have been skeptical about the iPhone as a useful camera for me, for example I prefer a viewfinder. I have tried out two camera apps chosen for their support of large Tiff files, as close to Raw files as I can get in an iPhone. This photo was taken with an app called 645 pro. It is a pretty comprehensive app and I will not pretend to have mastered it, or finished reading its huge manual. After taking a few photographs that looked great on the phone, I wanted to see them in Lightroom and Photoshop. There was a problem though, every transfer I tried converted the files to JPG;  when I tried Dropbox it worked, a seamless transfer of files from phone to IMAC in their original format. Now I was not expecting much from an 8mp camera but it’s worked out nicely (a bit of a problem in the lower left that you have to look hard to see). It will certainly give me no excuses for not taking photographs when I am out without my bigger kit.

My gallery of bees can be found here (click on the red): Bees

 

19 responses

  1. What iPhone model are you using?

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 5:53 am

  2. Nelson

    Phone can give honest result for landscape photo but the results are less conclusive for indoor or at close range photo

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 6:29 am

    • Yes my only attempt at close up looked better on the phone than it did in PS. That said better to have a chance than none at all.

      Like

      March 24, 2015 at 6:36 am

      • Nelson

        I agree with you because I cannot have my camera with me all the time

        Like

        March 24, 2015 at 6:48 am

  3. Beautiful landscape!

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 11:31 am

  4. I have recently bought a 6+ and it has transformed my opinion of the iPhone as a serious camera. The 3 and the 4s (from which I upgraded after almost 4 years) were dire. The 6+ is a seriously useable camera. I have not tried using TIFF files and its good to know the option exists.

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 3:56 pm

    • I bought the 6, the plus was too much. Enjoy the camera lots of apps for it.

      Like

      March 24, 2015 at 4:43 pm

  5. Beautiful

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 4:19 pm

  6. Great picture, congratulations. And thanks for sharing.

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 5:51 pm

  7. Love the bees! Had to order the close-up on the milkweed…it’s so beautiful. 🙂

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 6:41 pm

  8. That is a nice landscape and nice photo! I should look into that app! Sounds nice!

    Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Kind regards,
    Tieme

    Like

    March 25, 2015 at 3:57 am

  9. Pat

    Lovely.

    Like

    March 27, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Leave a Reply

