Hanging in (Two photographs)

Hanging InTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I keep getting asked how I take my macro photos, and I explain the basics. As well I always suggest getting as close as you can to those things you want to see close up (it does not have to be insects) with your existing camera gear and try photographing them. Anticipate where you want your subject to be in the frame etc. If the truth be told what most people call macro does not come close to being life-size or more, most of what is called macro is actually close-up photography (which describes my insect photography). Not that it matters much, except that calling it macro makes people assume they need a macro lens. Wide-angle lenses focus very close and give a spectacular perspective. I used a telephoto lens here – how close to an insect do you want to get? You should see how far you can go with what you have.

Hanging In-2

7 responses

  1. Pat

    Lovely close-ups of this little creature.

    Like

    March 27, 2015 at 3:20 pm

  2. Victor, thank you for the information and definitions. I like the color because it has greater range and the color better captures the color of the dragonfly.

    Like

    March 27, 2015 at 8:06 pm

  3. Color for me. I like dragonflies better taht way.

    Like

    March 29, 2015 at 7:57 am

Leave a Reply

