Fall Tableau (and a word on critique versus criticism)

Fall TableauTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This is another piece of found art in the forest. Like any photograph some will like it and some will not. There has been a lot of comment on the difference between criticism and critique. If the art form is something you love, you want to share your interest, ideas and foster it. Freely sharing ideas and techniques is about sharing the love of the art form and enabling people to have their own vision regardless of whether you agree with it or not. 

10 responses

  1. advocacine

    Nice one!! Simple yet it tells of time transition…of how short life would be for anything under the sun!

    Like

    April 13, 2015 at 5:21 am

  2. Love the pic. And your comment is spot on. Here on wordpress I have found an extremely talented community who seem to love all forms of art. While we all have our favorites – it’s all good.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 13, 2015 at 6:18 am

  3. I think a good critique is when you tell someone what works or doesn’t work for you as a viewer and most importantly why in a gentle way. Hope this is a good one: A comment about the leaf image. The blurry green bit in bottom left draws my eye away from the subject. My inclination would be to clone it out. if you like that bit as part of your composition, my apolgies.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 13, 2015 at 7:02 am

    • Thanks and well put. Useful comment on the photograph. I guess I made a good choice of photo for the text.

      Like

      April 13, 2015 at 7:05 am

  4. I like these type of shots–I have this thing for leaves. But I have a rule for myself–don’t move subjects, but take the shot as found. Did you place this leaf? Just a small personal point,

    Like

    April 13, 2015 at 11:42 am

    • Not at all. I try to avoid hand of man as the expression goes with all my nature photography.

      Like

      April 13, 2015 at 11:47 am

  5. Nice one, Victor. I’m curious about the two other leaves you left in the photo. What is your thinking behind that? 🙂

    Like

    April 13, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    • My approach is to leave things as they are and while I do crop, I wanted the extra color. In hindsight the out of focus leaf might have been done away with. Intimate landscape, a piece of the whole was what I saw and wanted to capture.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 13, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

