Fall Tableau (2) and a word about rules

Fall Tableau 2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I have often read about how ill-advised it is to shoot straight down. While I have a problem with general admonitions about positioning and perspective, I can see why rules may sometimes be necessary. My argument is that rules should not deter anyone who feels the need to break them. I don’t need to name the authors who chose to ignore punctuation, or who wrote stream of thought without consideration for grammar. Unlike language, the visual arts like photography need no common grammar to ensure accurate communication; what they do require is emotional impact, interest etc. to gain attention.

 

10 responses

  1. Often photography is about when it is appropriate to break the rules.

    Like

    April 17, 2015 at 5:04 am

  2. I was just thinking that when it comes to photography rules are arbitrary. Sometimes they make the image and sometimes they inhibit that creativity.

    Like

    April 17, 2015 at 7:17 am

  3. I agree! There are no rules to art!

    Like

    April 17, 2015 at 10:05 am

  4. Nice photo and I’m with you on the rules and when to break them. 🙂

    Like

    April 17, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    • I am not sure where all the rules came from. I don’t remember them back when I began.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 17, 2015 at 9:29 pm

  5. Well said, Victor!!

    Like

    April 18, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

