A few words on photography in general

I swearTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

No one becomes a good photographer overnight, even if you have a great eye for subject matter. It’s far more likely that you fall in love with photography before you master it. Even then there is an ongoing learning process that can only be helped by looking at the work of others, of tutorials and practice. It does not matter if you focus on a genre like street photography or portraiture or nature, finding the path to what works for you and trying new things makes us better photographers. Sometimes when I speak to photographers they pass along tips and are very confident in their abilities. It’s not a race or competition but the good ones usually read the manual and spent time making mistakes. One thing I have learned is that the more you focus on one area of photography, in my case nature, the more you learn to anticipate and be prepared. Squirrels and chipmunks are not always photogenic but you can anticipate their actions, the light, the background; the things that make the photograph work. You won’t always be able to capture the decisive moment but it will happen more often if you have experience and can anticipate what might happen.

 

24 responses

  1. Thanks…encouraging words

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2015 at 2:54 am

  2. Sue

    Great shot – cute critter!

    Like

    July 17, 2015 at 2:56 am

  3. Wise words. It is the journey that counts. If we stop learning and growing as artists we are done for.

    Liked by 2 people

    July 17, 2015 at 4:36 am

  4. Thank you for all your tips. I learn with every post.

    Like

    July 17, 2015 at 7:51 am

  5. Here Here, I agree with all that you have said.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2015 at 11:28 am

  6. Thanks, I appreciate your help

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2015 at 11:55 am

  7. Thanks for the tips!

    Like

    July 17, 2015 at 3:44 pm

  8. I like what you’ve said here. I definitely am in love with photography more than I am good at it lol.

    Like

    July 17, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    • I was very impressed with the Chiropractor’s photograph, amongst other work you have done, you are too modest.

      Like

      July 17, 2015 at 4:31 pm

      • I really appreciate the vote of confidence, Victor. I’m always hard on myself. Type A personality!

        Like

        July 17, 2015 at 4:36 pm

        • Artists, always poor always second guessing. I look back at some of my stuff wondering what I was thinking 🙂 another Type A

          Like

          July 17, 2015 at 4:40 pm

          • I do agree about the artists sensitivities. I’m foremost a musician spawned from a mother who is a professional musician so you can imagine THAT household lol! And yes about previous work…I feel exactly the same.

            Liked by 1 person

            July 17, 2015 at 4:42 pm

  9. Yes…so much to learn…and because there is so much to learn I think it never get boring.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2015 at 4:58 pm

  10. You are so right, Victor. I fully agree. I’ve spent so much time with making mistakes, reading tutorials etc. and then one day I notice I’ve learned to anticipate what happens next in nature, particularly with birds. That helps a lot to improve the ratio of acceptable vs bad shots. Always so much more to learn.

    Like

    July 17, 2015 at 11:37 pm

  11. With wildlife observation and patience are crucial. You can get lucky shots but fieldcraft pays dividends. You are clearly a keen and skilled observer.

    Like

    July 18, 2015 at 11:22 am

  12. Thank you for this post. Learning and shooting is the way. Some people think that learning is only for beginners, but aren’t we all beginners? Every new photograph is a new beginning.

    Like

    July 19, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

