On the Lake (Two Photographs)

On the Lake-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This photograph was processed with only a few adjustments: cropping, sharpening, de-noising and some selective detail extraction. Shot at mid-day the light was coming from the left, the goose moved its head to where I wanted it to be. It’s a nice relaxed photograph. Shooting things on water gives an opportunity for reflections, great color and shadow highlights. However, lake water is usually full of debris and it’s hard to decide what is sensor dust and what is muck. In spite of the great color I decided to see what would happen with a monochrome treatment.

On the Lake

6 responses

  1. Awesome capture (as always!)!! I’m glad the goose was cooperative for your photo shoot! : )

    Like

    July 27, 2015 at 9:38 am

  2. What a great shot of an unusual pose. At first when I saw the monochrome, I thought it was ice, but then I saw the turtles and realized it wasn’t! I usually gravitate to color, but I like these both equally.

    Like

    July 27, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    • Great. Geese are common but it’s fun to make them special. Glad you like the shots.

      Like

      July 27, 2015 at 10:16 pm

  3. The B/W is beautiful but the colour shot impacts me just a little more; just by a hair.

    Like

    September 6, 2015 at 9:07 am

Leave a Reply

