The One Mistake all Photographers Make (and a frog)

Leopard FrogTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I had been photographing an owl deep in the forest, my arms were tired and I was still feeling the excitement of that opportunity when I came across this frog. I knelt down and took a few shots, looked at my screen and was happy with what I saw. A few minutes later further along the trail I realized I had shot the frog at ISO 4000! We returned to the frog and I reset my camera to a more reasonable ISO, and no sooner than I was focused a goose chased the frog off the log. This left me with an ISO 4000 file, cropping exaggerated the noise. Processing the frog with Nik’s Dfine2 did a very nice job of removing most of the offensive noise. That said I am pretty sure that forgetting to reset the camera is one of the biggest mistakes all photographers make these days (a few decades back it would be forgetting to put film in the camera) 🙂  At least now we have the tools to fix our mistakes.

30 responses

  1. Yes, I agree with the reset issue. I’ve gotten into the habit of checking my camera’s settings after I’ve downloaded images from the card into my computer. Helps when i’ve been shooting at night when the settings would be a bit crazy for daylight. I used to have a consistent white balance problem until I decided to go with automatic.
    You’re also right about the tools to correct – up to a point.
    Nice frog by the way.

    Like

    August 4, 2015 at 1:20 am

  2. Right on. I remember clicking on slow shutter speed only to realise that the blur was all I got.

    Like

    August 4, 2015 at 1:41 am

  3. Sue

    Yep, been there, still do that sometimes… 😕

    Like

    August 4, 2015 at 4:04 am

  4. When I read the title of the post, my first thought was that there can’t possibly be a mistake that all photographers make. However, I think that you are right–with varying degrees of regularity, we all find ourselves in situations in which we have forgotten to return our cameras to more neutral settings after adjusting them for a particular subject.

    Like

    August 4, 2015 at 5:02 am

  5. Ugh! Been there done that still have to catch myself. Nice of the frog to pose for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 5:35 am

  6. Benn there, done that.

    Like

    August 4, 2015 at 10:18 am

  7. Me too, yesterday at midday, I went out to capture some heron shots….the camera was still set for nighttime pics.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 11:21 am

  8. Been there. Done that.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 11:35 am

  9. Definitely happened to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 12:21 pm

  10. Presets are you friend if you camera has them. You still have to remember to switch between them, but it is far easier than digging in menus or turning multiple dials.

    Like

    August 4, 2015 at 12:51 pm

  11. That sounds familiar. I usually make that mistake when I’m photographing the interior of buildings hand-held with a high iso and then go outside to take shots of the exterior……and forget to change the iso.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 1:26 pm

  12. I do it all the time. Nice frog pic.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 5:18 pm

    • Happened again today for me, fortunately I checked and could re-shoot.

      Like

      August 4, 2015 at 5:59 pm

      • I did the same thing yesterday I was shooting towards a shaded side of our yard and the dog moved to the sunny part I shot and bam blow out pic.

        Liked by 1 person

        August 4, 2015 at 8:46 pm

  13. I’ve done that more times than I can count! Maybe one day I will learn. Dfine does do a pretty good job of fixing the issue though.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 11:28 pm

  14. Great little setting for this handsome guy!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2015 at 11:50 pm

  15. I wish I could say I didn’t do that! It’s great you could save the frog.

    Like

    August 5, 2015 at 12:01 pm

  16. This has happened to me so many times! Glad Nik Define took care of it. I use Topaz Denoise.

    Like

    August 5, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    • I have recently been trying out Macphun Noisless pro, much easier to see what is happening and fine tune.

      Liked by 1 person

      August 5, 2015 at 8:45 pm

      • Have you used Topaz Denoise? I think it’s the best noise reduction software but maybe it’s because I’ve used it the longest.

        Like

        August 5, 2015 at 9:24 pm

        • No, I have some of their products and their customer service is great. I will have a look. Thanks.

          Liked by 1 person

          August 5, 2015 at 10:33 pm

          • You’re welcome! It has so much flexibility! Let me know how you like it after you try it.

            Like

            August 5, 2015 at 10:49 pm

  17. Been there, done that!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 7, 2015 at 1:57 pm

  18. Dave

    Done both those – in the days when I used film, there were a few empty camera moments. My usual settings faux pas these days is to forget to switch back to manual focus after using a manual lens! Great frog.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 15, 2015 at 2:15 pm

  19. Adrian Krucker

    Hi Victor … that happened to me just yesterday! However I was shooting leaves on a tree. When I noticed and restarted again … the wind picked up! Have a nice day! Thanks for sharing! Adrian

    Liked by 1 person

    August 20, 2015 at 5:23 pm

  20. I have done that one before. 🙂

    Like

    August 22, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

