Yellow Warbler (Two Photographs)

Yellow WarblerTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This was taken in May. The warblers were coming through on their migration. I am working at finding the smaller birds and waiting long enough for them to pose against a nice background in the light. I was quite pleased with these photographs.

I was asked by a friend who does a lot of bird photography to show them Lightroom and Photoshop. The first of these photographs was the picture I chose to use. It had a lot of the attributes I wanted to show off  like the need for content aware fill to remove distractions, one side was brighter than the other so the neutral density filter came into play etc. I always find it useful to explain my process and my photography. It helps me clarify what I am doing and consider it all in a new light. You get great questions and sometimes that makes you re-think something and consider a different approach.

Yellow Warbler 2

20 responses

  1. So cute and beautiful picture !!!!!

    Like

    August 6, 2015 at 1:25 am

  2. I love warblers! They are clowns. Very nice images here Victor. I also use content-aware fill. I’m going to start posting technical tips and tricks in photoshop. I think I’ll write this one down as a possibility to share.

    Like

    August 6, 2015 at 10:01 am

    • Glad you like the pics!

      Liked by 1 person

      August 6, 2015 at 2:33 pm

      • I did! *tweet*

        Liked by 1 person

        August 6, 2015 at 2:39 pm

        • Saw your selections video on Twitter. Did not see it on WordPress. Great stuff. Useful if one wants to duplicate a mask a couple of times. Thanks.

          Liked by 1 person

          August 8, 2015 at 7:24 pm

          • Strange about not seeing on word press. If you click the link or the image it should’ve taken you to my video which is located on my smugmug. Which did you click that didn’t work just so I can trouble shoot. And thanks! Glad you liked the info.

            Like

            August 8, 2015 at 7:50 pm

            • I was on Twitter Saw your video and watched. I checked my wordpress reader and did not see the post so I could leave a comment. At the the time Twitter said it was 48 minutes old.

              Liked by 1 person

              August 8, 2015 at 7:57 pm

              • Ohh How strange! Must be a delay with WP. Well, glad it worked out. Thanks Victor.

                Like

                August 8, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    • Sounds good to me.

      Like

      August 6, 2015 at 3:08 pm

  3. Love this set – esp. the Warbler warbling! 😉

    Like

    August 6, 2015 at 11:08 am

  4. The second one is so great, as if the warbler is looking back and wondering why you’re taking a photograph.

    Like

    August 6, 2015 at 3:40 pm

  5. The second one is nice, the top one is stunning! 🙂

    Like

    August 7, 2015 at 12:08 am

  6. What paradise do you live in where birds, turtles, frogs etc. fearlessly pose for a picture …Beautiful clicks! 🙂

    Like

    August 7, 2015 at 8:16 am

  7. Brilliant color!

    Like

    November 5, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

