Damselflies and a New Camera (Three Photographs)

OMD DamselfliesTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was very cautious in going out to buy a new camera. I wanted a walk-around camera, small, light, and was ready to accept a trade-off between quality and size. I chose Olympus’ new OMD EM 5II over a Fuji. They say the menus on the Olympus are confusing and after many days if not weeks of wrangling with them I agree (two hours alone to figure out how to activate the flash that came with it in a way that was useful to me). There are a few things I would like to see on the OMD, but the most annoying thing is that most adjustments need a button press and a dial turn. This is not a camera review, more about going into a new technology relationship with eyes open. These photos were taken with the 60 mm macro Olympus lens. It goes to 1:1 which is true macro but it is not a replacement, as is implied, for a 120mm lens (the crop factor of 2x due to the micro four-thirds sensor, means an angle of view equal to a 120 mm lens). 60 mm does not give you the magnification 120mm would. This means you need to get a whole lot closer with the 60 mm than with a true 120 mm lens.  Technically the OMD paired with a macro lens should be the best of all worlds if only because of the greater depth of field that comes with a smaller sensor. In the shots in this post I used focus peaking, where the camera highlights what is in focus. These were taken hand-held and cropped. From my perspective the OMD is a small camera where it is possible to get very high quality with patience and a thorough knowledge of the camera and especially the two-steps needed to change almost every setting. The problem is I would prefer to spend that time on my subject and not on the technology. Am I pleased with the OMD, it won’t replace my D7200. Time will tell if it fits the niche (walk around camera) that I wanted it to fill.

OMD Damselflies-3

OMD Damselflies-2

22 responses

  1. I do like insects. Curious eye looking and wondering if she will be a featured fly.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 13, 2015 at 1:36 am

  2. The topmost photo is one of the coolest insect photos I’ve ever seen. Great job! My older Canon PowerShot SX110 IS says it has a macro, but either I’ve never figured out how to use it properly or it is just a poor macro, so I’m not able to get cool shots like these. I have to use the zoom feature to get up close. However, it tends toward pixilation when I do. Anyway, I do love your peek-a-boo shot of the damsel fly.

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 1:45 am

  3. Beautiful shots of the damselflies, Victor, and the initial one is particularly striking because of the unusual perspective. I enjoyed reading about your initial experiences with your new camera. It seems like there are always compromises when you are looking for portability. I suspect that you will adjust as you use the camera more, but doubt that you will find it to be a complete replacement for your DSLR.

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 7:09 am

  4. The first shot is awesome!

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 7:26 am

  5. It’s a fine choice. Have lots of pleasure with it Victor. I chose Fuji but am frustrated waiting for the macro lens promised for next year. I get my 5D3 back next week. Can’t wait for that and my macro lens. The Oly is a fabulous camera.

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    • Thanks. Looking forward to hearing about the macro lens.

      Like

      August 13, 2015 at 5:24 pm

  6. Sue

    Well, new camera and learning curve or not, these are great images, Victor!

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 4:15 pm

  7. Funny I have thinking about getting the same camera. Sorry to hear about the two button adjustments. My first digital cam was an Olympus 2500l I really liked it. Great shots I look forward to seeing more and hearing more about your experience with the Oly

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 7:41 pm

    • Will do. It’s summer and most of my time is with the nikons. I plan to use it more as time permits, and I get more familiar with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      August 13, 2015 at 7:48 pm

  8. The first photo is amazing Victor! It’s so creative and unique! Well done.

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 8:29 pm

  9. Nelson

    It is very nice how you’ve capture the shadow

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 9:32 pm

  10. Lovely images….

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 10:52 pm

  11. What a great effect you captured with the silhouette of the damselfly through the green leaf!

    Like

    August 17, 2015 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

