What’s my Subject? (Two Photographs)

What's My Subject To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Sometimes after a day of shooting you get home and realize that your subject does not stand out as you would like. Normally that means it needs depth. You could blur the backgrounds, vignette your shots and crop to highlight your subject or as I have done here focus most of my processing on  the elements that matter, letting the background fade. In the first I wanted the audience’s eyes focused on the center of the flower, while in the second I wanted one branch to attract the eye.  Detail extraction with Nik and Macphun, and a glow effect with Nik worked. I used Clarity from Topaz labs to bring back some of the detail, lost in noise reduction. This is not journalism and we can take some liberty to focus attention on our subject. More importantly the next time you see a photograph where the subject is not clear, think about how it might be fixed.

What's My Subject-2

10 responses

  1. Beautiful flowers

    Like

    August 19, 2015 at 10:36 am

  2. This really looks like this tree is in the cherry family… possibly prunus serotina.
    Beautiful capture!

    Like

    August 19, 2015 at 2:00 pm

  3. You are inspiring me to step up into the world of post processing. I use my Mac editing program, but no separate app. I’m pretty tech-phobic, is there an easy, general app you’d recommend to cut my teeth on?

    Like

    August 19, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    • Yes. Lightroom catalogues your photos and does basic editing. More importantly there a ton of free resources to help you through learning it. Look up on google the most important setting, for example. Lightroom can be purchased for about 100 plus dollars you can subscribe to Lightroom and Photoshop for 10 dollars. Less than buying one product. Even if you never use photoshop it’s a deal. Ease of use, nothing beats Lightroom.

      Like

      August 19, 2015 at 9:25 pm

      • Are you using LR6?
        I second that motion! Nothing beats Lightroom I have been using it since LR3 and it just keeps getting better and better.

        Like

        August 19, 2015 at 9:36 pm

        • Yes. And to be frank it does 90 percent of what I need. The plugins, if used UN Lightroom create more files than if used in Photoshop. But that’s a small beef. Lightroom does a lot.

          Like

          August 19, 2015 at 9:54 pm

      • Thank you, Victor!

        Liked by 1 person

        August 19, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Leave a Reply

