Cedar Waxwing

WaxwingTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

While I have taken several photographs of these birds, I have learned a thing or two about being successful. The feathers of the Waxwing are hard to resolve, you need to be closer than most other birds and you need just a touch more depth of field. They move in flocks and if one bird gets disturbed chances are the others will fly off as well. On the plus side they seldom hide in the bushes and they have no problem perching on visible branches.

16 responses

  1. Candy

    🙂 absolutely beautiful. I love birds

    Like

    August 22, 2015 at 2:12 am

  2. lovely cute bird

    Like

    August 22, 2015 at 6:00 am

  3. Great capture…..love the framing provided by the leaves

    Like

    August 22, 2015 at 6:44 am

  4. I heard they go crazy for shadberry / serviceberry fruits, so I’m planting one by my window at work to try to entice them to me.

    Like

    August 22, 2015 at 10:09 am

  5. selah

    they are in our area, but in four years I have only seen one, and I didn’t have my camera with me. Your’s is a lovely photo.

    Like

    August 22, 2015 at 10:41 am

  6. Such a beautiful and “clean” shot. Great use of bokeh.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 22, 2015 at 7:26 pm

  7. The feathers of the waxwings make the bird look like a fine wood-carving. Thanks for the photo tip.

    Like

    August 23, 2015 at 6:20 am

  8. One of my favorite birds. Beautiful shot, Victor. You’ve captured the softness of their fine feathers so well. I’ve noticed they prefer leafless branches for scouting out insects.

    Like

    August 23, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

