Adding Drama to a Raptor (Eight Photographs)

Pergrine in BW (enhnaced)To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

A Peregrine Falcon studiously studies his surroundings, including yours truly. I think it’s more concerned about crows and other birds chasing it away and wants to focus on an easy meal. While its nice to photograph a bird against a blue sky, it is still back-lit to some degree. The tree needed cleaning of spider webs and other distractions that looked like sensor dirt. The bird is sitting in a magnificent tree but if I include too much of it the bird disappears. This bird was not going to give us any more poses and I was lucky to get what I did. Given that I have posted a peregrine in this tree before, I thought about trying it in Black and White. The sky looked dull (Photoshop – render clouds with a blending mode of soft light – three or four gradient layers to fade it and voila a dramatic sky). I ended up with a series of photographs I really like (the color versions are included for comparison). You will note I removed a branch in the black and whites to improve the composition. Let no one say I do not come clean about my manipulations!

Pergrine in BW (enhnaced)-4

Pergrine in BW (enhnaced)-3

Pergrine in BW (enhnaced)-2

Pergrine Falcon

Pergrine Falcon-4

Pergrine Falcon-3

Pergrine Falcon-2

 

13 responses

  1. The black and white ones are more dramatic. Interesting that should be so.

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 3:06 am

  2. Great images. I always enjoy seeing your new posts. Very skilful.

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 3:52 am

  3. The monos are superb Victor. Nice clean up too. Much better without the branch.

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 7:27 am

  4. Editing software is quite amazing. I wonder what the old masters say about the digital options we have today? We can save shots that they would have discarded.

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 11:58 am

    • You would be very surprised by what could be done with film. It is a myth that compositing and manipulation arrived with digital. Have a look at Arthur Conan Doyle’s fairies. Digital just made it a little easier😀

      Liked by 1 person

      August 24, 2015 at 12:06 pm

  5. Really beatiful!

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 12:39 pm

  6. Nicely done Victor!

    Like

    August 24, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

