First Steps in Photography (Two Photographs)

Rhetoric-2   To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Often when carrying a camera you get a lot of questions and comments. It’s easy when someone makes comments about what a nice camera you have. But if you have a conversation with someone who is new to photography, what would you say? Not all beginners are suited for photography school, not everyone is techno savvy. Sometimes the conversation leads to help with the technology, and other times it’s questions on technique. We are all on a learning curve; none of us have finished learning. I have learned a lot in talking to other people about photography and have found it difficult but very helpful to explain what and how I do it to others. In fact I think it’s been one of the most important elements in improving my photography. Instead of doing things by reflex I am thinking more about what is involved and as a result I tend to ask myself is there another way. When I meet experienced photographers the best chats are about technique or the use of the gear we have, the conversation almost always leads me to new approaches.

Rhetoric-3

 

 

7 responses

  1. Beautiful captures!
    The pink one is malva alcea – hollyhock mallow. The other is gaillardia – blanket flower, one of my favs!

    Like

    August 25, 2015 at 6:25 am

    • Thanks. Great to get the names. I am terrible at naming flowers even with my reference books.

      Liked by 1 person

      August 25, 2015 at 6:31 am

      • Try the available apps. I think they are great for beginners. Pick a color and month, look at some photos, spy your plant. .. named!

        Liked by 1 person

        August 26, 2015 at 6:24 am

  2. I like what you said. I think a photographer needs to be comfortable learning technology and also needs to have an artist’s eye.

    Liked by 2 people

    August 25, 2015 at 10:12 am

  3. “We are all on a learning curve; none of us have finished learning.” I love that!

    Liked by 2 people

    August 25, 2015 at 12:39 pm

  4. I have greatly appreciated the photographers who have been willing to stop and explain to me their, gear methods a other helpful tips

    Liked by 1 person

    August 25, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

