Bees (Two Photographs and a word about Close-up/Macro Photography)

BeeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

When I started doing close-up photography of insects it was clear that with many subjects the eyes would not be seen without flash. Professional portrait photographers have a lot of tools to get a catch light in people’s eyes and I do not see why it should not be the same for bees. Using flash also means highlighting the things insects pick up along the way.  I learned from professional entomologists who photograph insects indoors, that they spend a lot of time and effort cleaning the insects before shooting them. It’s unbelievable what shows up after sharpening, some of it is just plain dust and not pollen. Digitally cleaning the photograph after sharpening can be time-consuming. Bees are great subjects especially when preoccupied. In this and other examples where the subject gives me a chance, I will wait and anticipate the bee coming face to face with my camera. This bee did not stay very still even while it collected the pollen. In these two shots the bee performed meticulously and we both got what we wanted.

Bee-3

11 responses

  1. Sheridan Johnson

    So beautiful!

    Like

    August 30, 2015 at 1:51 am

  2. What I do like about macro is all the details that show on the photo, I do not see why I would remove some of those details by cleaning it. Personnally I leave everything as it is

    Like

    August 30, 2015 at 5:53 am

  3. Great tip, thanks!

    Like

    August 30, 2015 at 7:52 pm

  4. fuzzy wuzzy

    Like

    August 31, 2015 at 1:40 pm

  5. ilovemycreativespirit

    Great Shot

    Like

    January 19, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

