You think it noticed me? (Four Photographs)

  Cedar Waxwing-4To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Cedar Waxwings often fly in large packs; they strip the trees of berries and generally make their presence known. I consider them hard to shoot as their feathers are hard to define (hence waxwing) and their eyes are rather dark unless hit by direct light. Even with the same bird on the same branch, the light changes as leaves are blown around moving them between the sun and the subject. Normally I would not expect to get too many shots of a waxwing, they don’t hang around very long, but even as it looked at me directly it stayed put long enough for me to shoot.

Cedar Waxwing-3

Cedar Waxwing-2

Cedar Waxwing

12 responses

  1. These are really beautiful shots of this elegant bird!

    Like

    September 5, 2015 at 4:48 pm

  2. Lovely capture.

    Like

    September 5, 2015 at 1:14 pm

  3. Beautiful captures of one of my favorite birds – I love their crests, eye mask and smooth feathers!

    Like

    September 5, 2015 at 10:05 am

  4. Love all these Victor, esp. the first and fourth photos. Well done. 🙂

    Like

    September 5, 2015 at 9:42 am

  5. Wow You even captured the catchlight in the eye –

    Like

    September 5, 2015 at 5:48 am

    • Catchlights are interesting. You can wait for the light, which happened here or do a touch up in Ps, to do the touch up can be done in two ways: Brighten what is there or put something in the eye. I sometimes brighten, but I never create catchlights.
      With this bird it’s all natural.

      Like

      September 5, 2015 at 6:18 am

  6. What a cheeky expression it has!

    Like

    September 5, 2015 at 1:13 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.