Waxwings 1930’s Style (Four Photographs)

WaxwingsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Waxwings have always struck me as having a 1930’s touch to them, the fine hard lines and the smooth shapes. As you can see from the one color photo below, the original did not turn out as hoped; much of the trees under the birds were unfocused and unsightly, not worth the effort to correct. Head shots seemed like a good idea and I wanted a bit of 1930’s lighting. Sometimes it makes sense to articulate your vision and put it out there for others to comment. Although I am straying somewhat from pure nature photography and into the realm of art photography, it is still photography.

Waxwings-3

Waxwings-2

Waxwings-4

 

23 responses

  1. Wow! Great pics! An elegant bird!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 2:42 am

  2. I really like the framing that you chose for the black and white headshots, with lots of negative space. I find them to be really intriguing images–great implementation of your creative vision. You should not hesitate to do more “art” shots!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 4:12 am

  3. Isn’t nature photography art? I think these are fine examples of either genre.

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 6:39 am

  4. The detail in your photos always grabs me!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 8:22 am

  5. Great pictures! Way better than mine haha

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 11:19 am

  6. Victor, all are wonderful shots but the first seems to hit me in the most positive way. I agree with Mike Powell about the framing and the artistic merits. The diagonal of the head in the first picture seems to work best for me.

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 11:32 am

    • Thanks. I was wondering if I had posted too many, one might have had as much impact.

      Like

      September 14, 2015 at 12:17 pm

      • No I don’t think so. You’ve got a nice tendency to post multiple images that gives me and I hope everyone a chance to compare and learn. Looking a lot has its distinct advantages but critical evaluation is a strong added benefit. Thanks for doing this added work.

        Liked by 1 person

        September 14, 2015 at 2:33 pm

  7. Shea McLinden

    Beautiful photos!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 4:15 pm

  8. A regular Clark Gable! 😉 I think they are fabulous, Victor!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  9. We don’t ha love these birds. They don’t even look real. I LOVE the B&W’s!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 7:35 pm

  10. Love the bold compositions on the B&W shots, Victor. Well done. 🙂

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 8:06 pm

  11. #1 is stunning!

    Like

    September 14, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Leave a Reply

