Sweat Bee (Metallic Bee)

Sweat BeeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These are beautiful creatures and get their name from a desire for salt, which can be found in human sweat. While it has never happened to me they can land on you for just that reason. Moreover they are never still, sometimes they vibrate, it’s part of how they collect pollen. I noticed this when I was shooting at 1/250th of second with flash at 1/8th power. The low flash and relatively fast shutter speed should compensate for most movement but in several of the shots it did not. Close-up insect photography may be challenging but the pleasure in a successful capture makes it worthwhile.

8 responses

  1. Do you plan a book of your images? Each one is excellent. I’m off to Iceland in the morning. I wonder if I’ll see insects.

    Like

    September 22, 2015 at 1:25 am

    • Thanks. There are no spiders in Iceland I am told. I will think about the book.

      Like

      September 22, 2015 at 5:52 am

  2. Sweat bees are pretty little insects, aren’t they?

    With insects in general I don’t go slower than 1/400 sec., and often set a faster shutter speed to try to stop their motion.

    Like

    September 22, 2015 at 6:22 am

    • The problem with relying on shutter speed close up is your depth of field at any aperture shrinks the closer your subject is. That is why I use flash the way I do to stop motion.

      Like

      September 22, 2015 at 6:38 am

      • Yes, it can be a battle between shutter speed and depth of field. I compensate to some extent with a higher ISO, but at the risk of pictures that are noisier than is ideal. Sometime I use flash to be able to increase the depth of field, but flash can make a subject look harsh. We’re almost always trading off one thing against another, aren’t we?

        Like

        September 22, 2015 at 9:17 am

        • Agreed. With the latest noise reduction software and cameras that “can see in the dark” the trade offs may get easier.

          Like

          September 22, 2015 at 9:40 am

  3. Love the details in this macro, Victor. You really can see the grains of pollen and the huge load on its rear leg. Imagine being a bee in a sea of pollen!

    Like

    September 22, 2015 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

