Entomological Candy and a Word about the One that Got Away (Four Photographs)

Candy Stripped LeafhopperTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This is a candy stripped leafhopper (Graphocephala coccinea). It’s a true bug. All bugs are insects, not all insects are bugs and spiders are not insects. The leafhopper is a quarter of an inch – 6 mm long (I did not measure it, that’s what the books say). I was disappointed to learn that these bugs are relatively common in North America. When you look at them from afar the color is invisible, they look black. To see the color you need to get close, close enough to scare them off. The last photograph was the first shot I got this year of these bugs and I only had one chance. When I saw I missed it by a nose you can understand my frustration. Fortunately, I was lucky to see the same type of insect a few more times. I wanted a top down shot to show the pattern, maybe next time.

Candy Stripped Leafhopper-3

Candy Stripped Leafhopper-2

Candy Stripped Leafhopper-4

 

18 responses

  1. Leafhoppers can be frustrating, they are not usually the most cooperative (read: stationary in front of a camera) of insects. Maybe “headier” than others though — If I were a bug, I’d think it’d be better to jump (or fly) first, pose for pictures later. 🙂

    The wings on the last one are interesting. They look deformed or perhaps damaged.

    Like

    September 24, 2015 at 1:48 am

    • Thanks. I have since taken many more. I will look again at the wings.

      Like

      September 24, 2015 at 5:14 am

  2. Very cool. I will need to keep an eye out for one of these.

    Like

    September 24, 2015 at 10:15 am

  3. Victor, thank you for the introduction to these bugs. I’d not noticed the color. Very nicely done.

    Like

    September 24, 2015 at 1:09 pm

  4. I think these (and many other leafhoppers) are very streamlined and sleek-looking, like a cross between a sports car and space traveller. They unfortunately suck the life out of a plant, so are not so welcome in the garden! Great macros, you can really see the saw teeth on their legs.

    Like

    September 24, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    • Thanks. I am sure they are a menace in the garden. In the forest its another issue.

      Liked by 1 person

      September 24, 2015 at 11:24 pm

  5. I love this pics !!!! Awesome job

    Like

    September 24, 2015 at 11:17 pm

  6. Great photos! And what a cool bug. The variety in the bug world is endless, isn’t it?

    Like

    September 25, 2015 at 6:45 am

    • Thanks. Endless and fascinating.

      Like

      September 25, 2015 at 7:06 am

      • Yes. I love bugs. The complexity of their structure is so fascinating. Your photos are a perfect opportunity to study them.

        Liked by 1 person

        September 25, 2015 at 7:10 am

  7. Wow! Really great shots. What a treat.

    Like

    September 26, 2015 at 7:48 am

    • Thanks. My first attempt. At these kind of insects.

      Like

      September 26, 2015 at 7:56 am

  8. very beautiful i love the color very much !!!

    Like

    September 27, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

