Weevil?

Weevil?To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I have a selection of photos of birds and insects that I am having trouble identifying. I suspect from my research that this is a weevil, a sort of beetle. I will be consulting the experts at BugGuide.net. Given the huge number of different types and families of beetles it is not surprising to have difficulty making precise identifications. That being said whatever it is, it is kind of cute for an insect. I have toned down the lighting because the flash reflected off of the moisture on the leaf giving lots of specular highlights. Had I not used artificial light the photograph would be dull, flat and many of the features lost. There are trade-offs in whatever you do in photography. My main objective is to capture what I see and/or convey a sense of context. The necessity for artificial light sometimes impedes getting things just right. After I was sure I had my photograph, I watched this critter; it just kept moving, never quite facing me, but moving randomly. Maybe it was searching for something.

4 responses

  1. Yes! It is definitely a weevil. Many of these can be a bit damaging to trees. Great shot!

    Like

    October 9, 2015 at 1:24 pm

  2. I concur. Weevil. Great capture

    Like

    October 9, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Leave a Reply

