Eyes, its all about the eyes

Eyes its all abut the eyesTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Portrait photographers say that the most important thing is getting the subject’s eyes right. I am not a portrait photographer, more from lack of opportunity than anything else, but I agree that in any portrait the eyes are crucial. An entomologist asked me exactly what I meant when I spoke of insect portraits and I said photos taken face on. It seemed obvious to me but the results are less than satisfactory from a scientific perspective. Insect portraits face a number of issues. First, some insect eyes are essentially liquid filled as is the case here and that means nothing to focus on. Luck counts for more than your ability to focus. Secondly, many insect eyes are very reflective and even in natural light get strange highlights. You can see my flash in the white dots on the eyes, much less prominent than I would have expected and easily edited out but I chose not to. Composite eyes, those with many lenses like flies, are particularly difficult to get with a flat light as the sun also creates highlights. And of course the biggest challenge is getting an insect to look at you rather than turn and run.

20 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this great picture with us and your interesting commentary. Best. Chevvy

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 1:13 am

  2. You are so right about the eyes. In this doubly so. Two beautiful blue eyes.

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 1:15 am

  3. “Luck counts for more than your ability to focus.” It seems a genuine interest in your subject is the crucial ingredient in a stunning portrait such as this. Thanks for sharing your wonderful work with us all!

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 6:33 am

  4. I’ve always been intrigued by dragonflies. One actually landed on my hand for a rare instant this summer and my Immediate thought was, “I wish I had my camera.” This insect portrait is stunning.

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 11:49 am

    • Thanks. Both damselflies and dragonflies will land on people, but never when you want them to😀

      Liked by 1 person

      October 25, 2015 at 12:48 pm

  5. Very interesting.

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 12:04 pm

  6. Love this capture, Victor, right down to the hairs on its back – so well done!

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 12:47 pm

  7. This is so relevant as none of my dragonfly shots from this morning came out well! Almost always, the problem is one of the ones you mention about the eyes! Great post.

    Like

    October 25, 2015 at 4:33 pm

  8. awesome

    Like

    October 26, 2015 at 10:34 am

  9. Fabulous shot 🙂

    Like

    October 26, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

