A Cabbage White (and some words on processing)

Cabbage WhiteTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I made only minor adjustments to this photograph: sensor spot removal, exposure correction (which brought down the highlights), cropping, noise reduction, some sharpening and a bit of spider web removal. The result is a clean photograph. Most of this can be accomplished in Lightroom but like many, I prefer an external noise reduction program and sharpening and editing details in Photoshop. For a result like this I am only using a small percentage of the editing potential available in Photoshop and Lightroom. The harder work is holding a telephoto lens steady enough to capture the detail of the butterfly. Some insects and butterflies fly off and then return to the same perch. When you shoot a butterfly for its wings from the back, they can still sense your presence. I will not say you need patience but you do need a patient butterfly. As I do most of my shooting in mid-morning, most insects are livelier than when its cooler, but their colors look better in bright sunlight.

4 responses

  1. Elegant! My first thought was edible cabbage. Nice surprise to see such a lovely flutter-by.

    Like

    October 27, 2015 at 12:12 pm

  2. One of my favorite butterflies. I have yet to take a photo of one, so I’ll just enjoy yours.

    Like

    October 30, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

