Flower Photography (two photographs)

Flower Photography-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was reading an article on photographing flowers and I almost stopped reading when it recommended finding the perfect flower in the garden. As I read on, it became clear that the article was meant to teach a select number of technical issues. Clearly we need to understand technique and our tools before finding our style. However, what is the art if every flower and background is perfect? Does everything need to be in focus? Does color matter? Is there an angle that makes the shape of the flower more interesting? What parts of the flower should be included? What lens do you use to capture what you see? All of these and more are both artistic and technical questions that are the foundation of a personal style or approach. I think the article stopped short and short-changed the reader in not explaining ways to make the final product theirs. Knowledge of grammar and spelling do not make you an author.

Flower Photography

14 responses

  1. Well I like the B&W. It is almost ethereal.

    Do I get the sense that the article caused your blood pressure to go up?

    Like

    November 13, 2015 at 1:51 am

  2. Well said Victor.

    Like

    November 13, 2015 at 2:26 am

  3. I love the image, especially in black and white, and completely agree with your position–there are so many creative choices that we make whenever we take photos.

    Like

    November 13, 2015 at 7:08 am

  4. The black and white one is super.

    Like

    November 13, 2015 at 9:43 am

  5. I like both versions.

    Like

    November 13, 2015 at 7:10 pm

  6. Hear, hear! I totally agree.
    I love both these shots, but then as a gardener, what else would you expect from me? 😉

    Like

    November 14, 2015 at 10:03 pm

  7. black&white vs colour 🙂

    Like

    November 17, 2015 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

