The Subject

Sweat BeeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Is this a photograph of a flower with a sweat bee, or a sweat bee with a flower? The answer is found in what you want your subject to be. In this case the bee is prominent but were the bee lower in the flower, the photograph might be more about the flower. Or put another way, if you are interested in flowers the bee is a bonus, if you are a bee enthusiast etc. To a degree it falls to the photographer to make their subject clear. But there is no accounting for what others see or are interested in. Had I cropped more of the flower my intent might be clearer. I tend to wait for my subjects to do something interesting, even if it’s only looking at me. In post processing my biggest impact will be via the cropping I choose. Just some food for thought.

11 responses

  1. Beautiful macro image, Victor 🙂

    Like

    November 16, 2015 at 6:49 am

  2. Very nice macro picture.

    Like

    November 16, 2015 at 7:12 am

  3. Either way it’s a great capture!

    Like

    November 16, 2015 at 8:29 am

  4. I really like these flowers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    November 17, 2015 at 6:11 am

  5. Love this image – such great detail and for the record, I see the bee as the subject! 🙂

    Like

    November 18, 2015 at 3:30 pm

  6. Love it! Great contrast between the green bug and the colored flower and yet there is a wonderful union between the two. Great sharpness too 😀

    Like

    November 23, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

