A Frog (and a Note about Vibration Reduction)

FrogTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Vibration Reduction and the other in-camera and lens mechanisms to ensure stability are always advertised as allowing you to shoot at a lower shutter speed. Many of my lenses do not have any of this technology, so when I use a lens that does, I can tell the difference. The main difference is the movement in camera until the stabilization settles. I am not certain but it must affect the composition slightly. I am less concerned about shooting at a lower shutter speed than I am in getting a higher shutter speed at a lower ISO. Vibration Reduction to some degree gives me this but it can also be counter-productive shooting small things, especially close up. This technology does not work on tripods. In general and off tripod I leave it on hoping it will get me better shots. But I am not taking advantage of the lower shutter speed. I continue to shoot as I always have, picking and choosing my settings according to my needs. Vibration Reduction is an insurance policy. I said this in a camera store and I got a lot of glares from the sales people. It is like a lot of selling points, it works under the right conditions, but don’t tell me it works all the time or that it is perfect.

12 responses

  1. Great Frog picture.

    Like

    November 19, 2015 at 6:37 am

  2. Thanks for teaching me something new Victor, and I agree, nicely captured amphibian!

    Like

    November 19, 2015 at 6:43 am

  3. Interesting POV makes this image really interesting 🙂

    Like

    November 19, 2015 at 7:06 am

  4. Eyes-mirror of the soul 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    November 19, 2015 at 10:47 am

  5. excellent macro

    Like

    November 19, 2015 at 6:19 pm

  6. Great image!
    Around here I can never find a frog that stays still long enough to get a photo.

    I to find VR,IS whatever you want to call it is over rated and a high shutter speed is always preferable even if you must bump up the ISO. The post processing software is getting much better these days at dealing with higher ISO images. The photos I posted of the Otter recently were all shot at 3200 and 1600 ISO and which was partly quick thinking for a very tough situation. They looked fine as long as you don’t pixel peep.

    Like

    November 19, 2015 at 7:49 pm

  7. Excellent Photo, yeah most features of cameras are good for specific things but not everything. Obviously in some circumstances vibration reduction might also be a hindrance.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 20, 2015 at 1:10 am

Leave a Reply

