A Rant on Gear Reviews

Flower GlowTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I am beginning to wonder if any piece of camera equipment or software is ever panned. I am sure that someone loves every bit of tech other than just its creator and the company supplying it, but that does not mean mass-market satisfaction. When I read reviews I am keen to see the pros and cons, read about the rough spots. Far too many reviews can be summed up as saying the product is amazing. Let’s be frank, nothing is perfect. When shopping I look at forums searching for the one naysayer that might be onto the truth. I did find one person who panned a lens I like and I would agree with him, if I were using the lens for the same purposes he was. It is really hard to get the full facts on products so that there are no gotchas, its best to try them first. I have bought more than one product that promised to do something, which it did, but neglected to say anything about the hoops one has to jump through to get there. On the other hand, I bought a product (a soft box) that some have said just barely meets expectations. I have found it works for me and has other benefits I had not thought of and I have told the manufacturer. I would be happy to write reviews but I would want to make it very clear to buyers what they are getting and what I based my tests on.

15 responses

  1. Reviews help, but many need to be read with a grain of salt. Best to find many rather than one or two I think.

    Liked by 3 people

    November 25, 2015 at 3:09 am

  2. I agree with Sherry. I read reviews (and write MANY) and have to weed through the facts, fluff and fodder that is fed to me. I love a thorough review! You’re right. Nothing is perfect, I wish more reviewers would write more than ‘great’ or ‘this suuuucks’ 😃

    Like

    November 25, 2015 at 6:49 am

    • Great. What reviews do you write?

      Liked by 1 person

      November 25, 2015 at 6:50 am

      • I’m not a ‘professional’ reviewer, however if there is a venue available for me to write a review, I do. I use Amazon a ton and read/write reviews there, among other sites.
        In a nutshell, I try to stick to the facts and not my ‘feelings’ or particular needs, as a ‘kid friendly campground’ may be nice for some, but not me. I won’t trash the campground because it wasn’t my thing, but I would say if you’re looking for a quiet place, this may not be the spot.
        You still need to weed through the reviews you do read. I can tell when the reviewer has just had a bad day and needed an outlet. These reviews should be ignored, if possible.
        I have gotten so much praise from even just sending an email to the boss of the electrician that fixed my short, explained the problem thoroughly and did so in a timely, friendly manner.
        If I get short-changed, I am VERY diplomatic about the review. Many times my issue gets resolved and I can retract the review. I think the key is diplomacy. Don’t ‘yell’ or use nasty verbiage, and usually things get fixed well beyond your expectations.
        Although you speak in ‘photographer speak’ (a language I have yet to master) I love your reviews on the equipment. Very non-biased and clear.
        (Sorry, I’m a bit yappy this AM!)

        Liked by 1 person

        November 26, 2015 at 8:37 am

  3. It is all about marry up your expectations with the claims of the product. What is acceptable for one is not for others. In reviews, describing why it is or is not acceptable is paramount – saying something sucks or it is great is not helpful at all. If only you could personally try everything first…

    Liked by 2 people

    November 25, 2015 at 6:57 am

  4. Nice one. crazy looking plant.

    Like

    November 25, 2015 at 11:04 am

  5. Reviews can assist – I personally try to read as much as possible about a particular product . I also will ask around (photographers) for varied opinions. For myself the more information (not necessarily reviews) I can find – the better.

    Like

    November 25, 2015 at 11:31 am

  6. Couldn’t agree more Victor…..reviews are a nightmare.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 25, 2015 at 1:44 pm

  7. Such great photogaphy – a lot of patience and dedication

    Like

    November 25, 2015 at 5:59 pm

  8. Call me cynical, but I always wonder if the reviewers are getting free products in exchange for reviews, which opens the possibility of bias. You’re not likely to bite the hand that feeds you.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 25, 2015 at 7:24 pm

  9. I don’t get paid for any reviews i write, so I feel I can be honest about the good and the bad, some items I love, some I merely like, have not really struck anything I loathe as yet! Interesting post, thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    November 25, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

