Moments Apart (Two Photographs)

MomentsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These images of a Great Blue Heron with a Catfish were shot less than a minute apart. It gives you an idea of how fast these events can move. This was one of those times when I missed the actual fishing but caught the aftermath, which ended with the bird wandering behind some trees. It also shows the quick change in expressions you can see in animals. I never take the camera from my eye when I see something like this; shooting single frames and trying to get the things right, like the head when it’s in the best light, it all has to come together in seconds. Things do  not always work out and the opportunities are never as great as one would like but a great capture is a great capture. I shoot single frames, “spray and shoot” has its place but more than likely in circumstances like this it would prevent any adjustments of settings and position.

Moments-2

8 responses

  1. Nice picture, I’ve had a lot of fun photographing Great Blue Herons over the years.

    Like

    December 4, 2015 at 4:25 pm

  2. Splendid and fascinating details like the dripping of the fish, the shadows playing across the heron’s back and its reflection in the water in the first shot. In the second shot, its casual triumph seems apparent. Such prehistoric-looking birds!
    Have a great weekend, Victor!

    Like

    December 4, 2015 at 9:52 pm

  3. We often see Great Blue Herons at a couple ponds we visit. Been trying to get a shot of one in flight that I like, but they’re usually out of range. It’s become a running joke. My wife watched as I was photographing the moon as one flew within feet behind me. One of these days 🙂

    Like

    December 5, 2015 at 2:49 pm

    • It’s harder than it looks. I have one where the background is too close, good bird in flight shots are rare

      Liked by 1 person

      December 5, 2015 at 2:57 pm

  4. Fantastic. I really love that second one. Perfect exposure and I like the pose the GBH struck for you.

    Like

    December 5, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

