Green Bottle Flies (Two Photographs)

Green Bottle FlyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was once asked about what insects to photograph. I pointed out my favorites, dragonflies, damselflies, butterflies, beetles etc. I also added flies. Flies, as I’ve noted before, can be surprisingly easy to shoot close up. As with all small insects issues arise about light, depth of field etc. Flies make great subjects that are surprisingly colorful and full of character. Here you can see the wonderful but reflective green of this fly, as well as its dramatic almost imperial profile.

Green Bottle Fly-2

10 responses

  1. When I saw the title, I thought oh no I do not need to see flies, but I am glad I did. Even though they annoy me, they are pretty amazing creatures!

    Like

    December 5, 2015 at 2:09 am

  2. YOWZA. That is all. 🙂

    Like

    December 5, 2015 at 12:54 pm

  3. The hairs are glistening! I so enjoy your insect photos and I normally don’t like them.

    Like

    December 5, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    • A few years ago I could not imagine myself photographing insects!

      Like

      December 5, 2015 at 3:45 pm

      • Really?????? I guess I’ve only followed you since you have. Honestly, they are so great!! Those and your ducks. 🙂

        Like

        December 5, 2015 at 3:57 pm

  4. Excellent Photos.

    Like

    December 5, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

