Scale as an Element in Context (Two Photographs)

Scale as an element in Context-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

In my reading on photography I have come across several references to adding an element that gives the audience an idea of size. Photos that show someone leaning against a redwood tree or a skier on a ridge in the Alps usually accompany this tip. I have written previously about this with respect to insects. I can see the rationale and I can see its utility for nature photography, though we do not often get a chance to place our subjects or other objects into our frame. I went through my photographs and found these examples among my collection of unused photos of Canada Geese, where the point is illustrated.

Scale as an element in Context

8 responses

  1. Big foot. Little feet. I like the clarity of the chick and underbrush. The little guy is adorable.

    Liked by 3 people

    December 9, 2015 at 9:18 am

  2. Wonderful. Love the contrast.

    Like

    December 9, 2015 at 1:04 pm

  3. joeythebuddhist

    Awesome pictures!

    Like

    December 9, 2015 at 4:11 pm

  4. They are cute when they’re little.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 9, 2015 at 8:15 pm

  5. Great examples of scale, and too cute!!

    Like

    December 10, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

