A Sequence of Events (Two Photographs)

A Sequence of EventsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was trying to photograph this flycatcher and I did get one clean shot of it. Then it hopped away and when I acquired focus again it had an insect in its beak. On another issue I have significantly cropped these images. This gave me opportunity to ensure the proper negative space. If someone or something is looking or moving forward it is best to leave a little space for them to do so in the frame. Unless it is a cartoon or for comic effect the frame of the photograph should not abut the nose of your subject.

A Sequence of Events-2

7 responses

  1. Excellent shots.

    Like

    December 11, 2015 at 1:25 am

  2. While this dear bird did catch a fly, I think it is a catbird–these guys skulk around the bushes and meow like a cat, thus the name. They are moderately shy, and you were lucky to get one out in the open. And you got it while it was catching its prey! What a bonus. These birds sometimes cock and wag their tails, revealing their rusty brown under-tail coverts, which show a nice contrast with the grey. I think they are related to robins in the thrush family, but correct me if I’m wrong. Wonderful pictures!

    Like

    December 11, 2015 at 1:51 am

    • Thanks you could be right I will have another look. My taxonomic skills are taxed.

      Liked by 1 person

      December 11, 2015 at 6:03 am

      • By the way, when Linneaus first described this bird, it was believed that he was an old world flycatcher. So you are in distinguished company. His classification was revised later on.

        Liked by 1 person

        December 17, 2015 at 10:58 am

  3. Victor, thank you for having the skills and patience to capture this type of photography.

    Like

    December 11, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

