Fun with Lenses (Three Photographs)

Fish eyeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These photos were taken with a 10.5mm DX lens (full frame 15mm) it’s close to being a fish-eye (a real fish-eye lens would be 5 to 8mm). With the 10.5 you still have to watch that your feet don’t appear in the frame. I got my copy of the lens second-hand. They are used mostly for skiing and skateboard shots. Every so often it’s fun to take it out and play around, recognizing you must have a straight horizon and that everything above and below the horizon will tilt inwards. Someone told me that the Nikon D7200 has a fish-eye mode built-in; it’s in the editing functions that I never use (along with all the movie functions) and does not do the same thing. The 10.5 is often in my bag when I go out for landscape, nice to have but not a necessity.

Fish eye-2

Fish eye-3

18 responses

  1. Cool shots, Victor. I’ve never really thought about using a lens that wide, but your shots of the trees gives me an idea of the creative possibilities that it offers.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 21, 2015 at 5:17 am

    • Great. I want to try close-up wide angle photography. It’s done and looks great.

      Like

      December 21, 2015 at 6:09 am

  2. Cool shots

    Like

    December 21, 2015 at 6:11 am

  3. Great shots especially those one with trees making kind of a ring. Wide eye lens was used brilliantly. You are great man . I wish I become as good as you. Check out my pics too I am a beginner and people like you are what make me work hard.
    Cheers mate

    Like

    December 21, 2015 at 11:11 am

  4. Number two is amazing. Very clever to see that.

    Like

    December 21, 2015 at 4:39 pm

  5. Victor, thank you for the information. You’re a wealth of it.

    Like

    December 21, 2015 at 6:57 pm

  6. Beautiful photos.

    Like

    December 22, 2015 at 11:28 pm

  7. I like number 2 also, has a really pleasing dynamic to it.

    Like

    January 5, 2016 at 1:37 pm

  8. The trees in your first shot bring back memories of my early days shooting. I had a 16mm fisheye,and your shot could be a double of mine. the trees were the same color and it just looks so much like mine. I remember how excited I was to capture the unique view and how folks loved it. nice jog on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 7, 2016 at 8:24 am

    • It’s very much a special affects lens. I bought it on a whim, a good one.

      Like

      January 7, 2016 at 8:32 am

Leave a Reply

