Great Blue Heron in Flight (Four Photographs)

Great blue Heron-FixTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Of these four shots I think the third one has the greatest impact. The sequence is nice to have but the bird was too close to the background. Darkening the shadows improved this and in one I masked out the bird and blurred the background. People who photograph birds tend to talk about good backgrounds, as I have many times on this blog. It’s a matter of opinion, but as a rule the background will be better the further away your subject is from that background. Now with a huge bird in flight one could be forgiven for trying to capture what is a rather unusual opportunity.

Great Blue Heron In Flight-4

Great Blue Heron In Flight-3

Great Blue Heron In Flight-2

11 responses

  1. Beautiful !

    Like

    December 22, 2015 at 8:18 am

  2. SHUTTHATNEGATIVENOISEOFF!

    Hi there, I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award!

    Here’s the link.https://emmaonegrete.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/2nd-sunshine-blogger-award-totaling-5-awards-in-4mos/

    No pressure. Congrats and continued blessings, Emma

    Like

    December 22, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    • Thank you. I should have statement on my site that explains that while I appreciate offers like this. I think they are better suited to others. But I do sincerely appreciate this nomination and your interest in my blog. Thank you very much.

      Liked by 1 person

      December 22, 2015 at 4:09 pm

  3. I love the symmetry of the first image ….they are beautiful creatures in flight!!

    Like

    December 22, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  4. fantastic

    Like

    December 22, 2015 at 6:51 pm

  5. Beautiful shots of these Great Blue!

    Like

    December 22, 2015 at 7:40 pm

  6. Herons are my favorite birds to photograph. These are very nice images. They look so “gangly” in flight. That long neck…

    Liked by 1 person

    February 6, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Leave a Reply

