The Case of the Curious Beetle (Three Photographs)

Plant BugTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

After looking through two massive books on insects (Evans on Beetles of North America, and Marshall’s Insects and their Natural History and Diversity) I was pretty sure this was a Systena marginalis. However, I wanted a common name. I entered the Latin name in my browser and funny things happened with new characters appearing in the search bar (must be some kind of code thing). So I tried “Systena” by itself and was taken to BugGuide.net, where lo and behold it was identified as a common leaf beetle. I have a lot of insects I hope to share but I may need more entomological help in the naming.

Plant Bug-3

Plant Bug-2

6 responses

  1. Living in England I’m obviously far from an expert on American Chrysomelidae but I have seen this species referred to as a Margined Flea Beetle and a Cypress Leaf Beetle which is why for absolute clarity it’s often best to include the scientific name.

    Like

    January 11, 2016 at 8:30 am

  2. excellent

    Like

    January 11, 2016 at 12:22 pm

  3. Simply superb, Victor. I like the first one best, but they’re all brilliant. 🙂

    Like

    January 11, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

