Jumping Spider (Salcidae – Two Photographs)

SalcidaeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Jumping spiders are known for their ”curiosity” characterized by standing their ground, an intense look and sometimes moving closer to the observer. This summer I learned that their attack/stressed stance is to rise up on their front legs. That is not the case in these photos. In the two minutes in which I took my shots, I changed my position to get more of the back of the spider. From that angle you can see it is more relaxed (even if stressed these spiders are not aggressive – I get them on my clothes all the time and we have had a few in the house, they are harmless.) The fact that I was using flash (see the catch lights in its eyes) did not disturb it, it moved on slightly to bring its body around towards me. After I stopped shooting the spider moved to another position looking out over the same leaf. Most of the jumping spiders I saw this year were less cooperative and exhibited their skill at speedy retreat. Once in a while you get lucky and get close enough for good detail.

Salcidae-2

24 responses

  1. I see you X8 😉

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 9:09 am

  2. Great Post

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 11:12 am

  3. Superb images! I am impressed with how sharp and crisp all the tiny details are.

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 11:23 am

  4. Love the eyes!

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 12:17 pm

  5. Fun. I look forward to spring and some bug hunting.

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 2:40 pm

  6. What starry eyes – would obviously warn off any danger

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 5:35 pm

  7. Love it Victor…I’m going out to find a spider to photograph this weekend!

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 5:42 pm

  8. These are my favorite spiders. The second photo has what? tusks? Great detailed shots of these little charmers.

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 7:52 pm

  9. Wow on the detail. As much as you said they are harmless, I’m still apprehensive. May have something to do with not being fond of spiders.

    Like

    January 15, 2016 at 11:30 pm

    • I was not fond of them either. But after a few encounters with the them and the camera I got over it. Still hate it when we get one the house.

      Like

      January 15, 2016 at 11:44 pm

  10. What camera / lens do you use?

    Like

    January 16, 2016 at 12:40 am

    • Nikon 300 2.8. Looking at the new 200-500 cheaper,lighter,longer.

      Like

      January 16, 2016 at 6:03 am

  11. Salticidae 🙂

    Like

    January 17, 2016 at 12:09 am

  12. What a beauty !!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    January 19, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

