Midges!

MidgesTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took these insects in mid-summer. They became a bit of challenge to identify, so I went to bugguide.net for advice. I was told they were midges (female on the left, male on the right). I went back to my books and Google and it was clear that I could not find an image of a midge with the fan on its head. So I am grateful to the entomologists at bugguide.net and for the very quick turn around in identification. There is a great quote from Oliver Wendell Holmes Sr. about entomology:

“I suppose you are an entomologist? ”

“Not quite so ambitious as that, sir. I should like to put my eyes on the individual entitled to that name.

No man can be truly called an entomologist,

sir;  the subject is too vast for any single human intelligence to grasp.”

14 responses

  1. Great image! Beautiful!

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 3:10 am

  2. Great image 😊

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 5:54 am

  3. Great capture and love the quote!

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 7:44 am

  4. Great macro – those are tiny insects! I guess the fancy male antennae are the attractant for females. I love bugguide.net, they are a great resource.

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 4:12 pm

  5. Wonderful capture. I do like the fan on the head.

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 7:18 pm

  6. Nice shot, even if I have never heard of midges!

    Like

    January 24, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    • Thanks. If you have been by a river or lake in the summer and seen clouds of small flying insects. That’s midges.

      Like

      January 24, 2016 at 7:38 pm

  7. Great picture !!!! Stunning ☺☺

    Like

    January 25, 2016 at 11:54 am

Leave a Reply

