Some Thoughts on Landscape Photography (Four Photographs)

Landscape TestsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Landscape photography is a challenge for me. The subject is complicated, shape, form, color, close detail, far detail, clouds etc. all has to come together. The color version of these photos even out of the camera seemed a bit over saturated, a bit unreal. It’s hard to pull that back, though I tried and you can see the results. I took those results and worked on them in black and white, to better effect. One of the reasons I have wanted to learn black and white was for landscapes, where I think the nuances of black and white work well.

Landscape Tests-2

Landscape Tests-3

Landscape Tests-4

 

11 responses

  1. I love landscape shots. If I can’t be outside, I’d want to be looking at one. Maybe you’re over critical because there is no ‘main’ subject? I think all the layers and textures all make it work. In color & B/W.

    Like

    January 27, 2016 at 7:08 am

  2. Sukanya Ramanujan

    I love landscapes but I must say I love the ones in colour over the ones in bw

    Liked by 2 people

    January 27, 2016 at 9:19 am

  3. I think which form one favors is very individual. Some people prefer the richness of color, others B+W speaks to them. I think there is room and a need for both.

    Like

    January 27, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    • No argument. I am just suggesting landscapes often lend themselves to B&W and it encouraged me to give it a go. Most of my photography is in color. Thanks

      Like

      January 27, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      • I agree with that – look at the success of Ansel Adams! 🙂

        Like

        January 27, 2016 at 5:11 pm

        • Many photographers should read what he wrote. He was a genius in the field and in processing his photos. It’s the latter many are unaware of.

          Liked by 1 person

          January 27, 2016 at 5:13 pm

  4. Beautiful shot, the dried out corn really looks interesting with that fence.

    Like

    January 27, 2016 at 11:16 pm

  5. Welll…I think you know I feel. I love saturation most of the time but that’s because it’s an emotional thing for me and how I express myself. It’s funny how we are used to doing certain things and then do something else that takes us out of our comfort zone…it requires a lot more thought! Even to process something different is a challenge for me. Having said that, I like the color version. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    January 29, 2016 at 12:40 pm

  6. Landscapes lend themselves to both color and b&w but sometimes you just cannot “feel” the image without it being in color.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 30, 2016 at 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

