Perfection/Imperfection (Six Photos)

The EyeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

There are three sets of photos here. My preferred photo is the first color one. Unlike the others it has a flaw but one I think can be overlooked, the tip of the nose is out of focus. In the progression from a straight portrait to one with some character and impact, I think the choice is between the two photos where the bird’s head is turned. The more exaggerated of the two has the flaw but as we are drawn to the eye it is probably not something everyone would note. In the digital age, tolerance is lower for soft focus. In the days of film a bit of softening was not as much of a problem – especially as we did not get as many chances to photograph the same subject. Today tack sharp is a “rule”.

The Eye-2

The Eye-3

The Eye-4

The Eye-5

The Eye-6

 

18 responses

  1. Beautiful Photographs..!!!

    Like

    February 2, 2016 at 1:17 am

  2. You are right to pick the first one, tack sharp or not. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    February 2, 2016 at 7:10 am

  3. The first one is good but that second one is giving it a run for its money to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    February 2, 2016 at 8:40 am

  4. Sukanya Ramanujan

    I think the bird’s expression in the second set of photographs is so curious!

    Like

    February 2, 2016 at 8:57 am

  5. I think that sometimes an image can be too perfect and it loses something, for me its is a little imperfection that makes the image more valid.

    Like

    February 2, 2016 at 9:00 am

  6. I don’t think many people would even notice the ‘imperfection’ on that lovely first photo.

    Like

    February 2, 2016 at 12:31 pm

  7. The soft nose doesn’t bother me a bit. It is the expression in the eye that hooks me right away; the guarded curiosity and wonder. Incredible photo.

    Like

    February 2, 2016 at 9:30 pm

  8. I like the same shot in black and white. Lately, color seems to be distracting to me. Also, I wouldn’t conside the slight blur of the nose a flaw. Finally, the tilt of the head is both intriguing and charming.

    Like

    February 3, 2016 at 9:39 am

  9. Great shots Victor!

    Like

    February 27, 2016 at 10:47 am

Leave a Reply

