Overpowering Colors (Two Photographs)

Locust borersTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I posted some locust borers a while back and I spoke to one issue, that being the overwhelming yellow of the goldenrod. I was asked what I meant and how I dealt with it. Here are two pictures taken at the same time but ones I chose not to publish then. What I was referring to is that your audience needs to distinguish your subject from the background. As you can see, the yellow of the Borer and the goldenrod is very similar. There are two ways around this. I tend to check my pictures on the camera screen as I take them. This way I can see if there is an issue. If I see some confusion I wait for the insects to come closer with the mass of the goldenrod further back, or I move to take advantage of the shadows created by the light. Sometimes waiting means missing an action shot, sometimes the insect decides not to continue on its path, it’s not an exact science. In post-processing, lowering the highlights helps as does some shadow adjustment. You could selectively adjust the luminosity of one yellow tone with masking etc. Making insects stand out from the background can be challenging especially if they are inside the foliage. Shadow and light can help but overall, waiting for a point when they emerge from the foliage is the better option.

Locust borers-2

 

7 responses

  1. Victor, thank you for the continued explanation of the “yellow” issue. With all of your skills sometimes it comes down to the whim of the subject. No, “Turn your head slightly to the left.”

    Like

    February 19, 2016 at 1:46 pm

    • A similar issue is inability of some modern DSLRs to handle bright primary colors, they get over blown, while the rest if the photo is properly exposed no matter how you expose for them. A more complicated problem to overcome.

      Like

      February 19, 2016 at 1:49 pm

      • True. I’ve found that my new Canon 70D can handle the yellow better than my Rebel T3i/650D. The 70D is a more expense camera and newer.

        Liked by 1 person

        February 19, 2016 at 1:57 pm

  2. gorgeous

    Like

    February 20, 2016 at 10:12 am

  3. Wow! What incredible color!

    Like

    February 21, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

