Sharp-Shinned Hawk (Three Photographs)

Sharp Shinned Hawk-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

When I took these there were a few photographers about and there was some debate as to what it was. I think it is a juvenile Sharp-Shinned Hawk. I have not had a lot of opportunity to shoot hawks. This one was in better light than most and as you can see I got a shot of him flying away. I have not done much to these images; a few tweaks to exposure, sharpening and detail. The most important step was opening up the shadows a bit as the light on the bird was not perfect.

Sharp Shinned Hawk

Sharp Shinned Hawk-3

19 responses

  1. Awesome capture!!

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 2:19 am

  2. What an amazing catch!

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 3:39 am

    • Thank you. I was very pleased to see this hawk in the first place and thrilled to be able to shoot it.

      Liked by 1 person

      February 25, 2016 at 6:09 am

  3. I agree that it is a juvenile sharp-shin. The stripped tail is my ‘tell’. Great catch!

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 6:41 am

  4. I love that final photo of the hawk just taking off. Fantastic capture.

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 9:58 am

  5. Sukanya Ramanujan

    I love the last photograph!

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 10:39 am

  6. Just fantastic! All the details are so sharp!

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 12:38 pm

  7. Wow that last one is great!

    Like

    February 25, 2016 at 9:13 pm

  8. Ooh, that last one is so dynamic! It’s great to see all the markings you don’t usually get to see.

    Like

    February 26, 2016 at 5:18 pm

  9. The take-off shot is superb!

    Like

    March 3, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Leave a Reply

