Swinging Heron

Swinging HeronTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Who knew that herons could dance? The flexibility of these birds is remarkable. The heron made this movement more than once as it looked for lunch. I took a whole series of this bird moving this way. I selected the one where the twist was most evident and the distractions easiest to remove. Some will call this the temptation of Photoshop. It took me longer to process this one photograph than most as removing branches and twigs that distracted from the shape of the bird took awhile.

12 responses

  1. Graceful pose.

    Like

    February 28, 2016 at 1:25 am

  2. “Some will call this the temptation of Photoshop.” I think there are artistic choices to be made in editing also. Painters eliminate unwanted elements in their work often. I’m not sure I see the need to treat photography any differently. It’s really all about what your artistic intent is as I see it. What you have done here is to articulate the beauty in the Heron’s form. There seem to be so called purists in every artistic endeavor. They can be so tiresome!

    Like

    February 28, 2016 at 4:55 am

  3. By the way, I hope that didn’t come off as pompous. Only thing more boring than unforgiving purists is unrelenting pompous blathering !

    Like

    February 28, 2016 at 5:15 am

  4. I love photographing herons, quite tricky subjects, nice shot

    Like

    February 28, 2016 at 3:15 pm

  5. Wow that’s a good shot. I’ve seen a million heron photos but this one has some real sense of motion, action, and tension in it.

    Like

    March 1, 2016 at 12:23 am

  6. Another wonderful capture!

    Like

    March 5, 2016 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

