Not Everything Fits in the Frame (Two Photographs)

Black Crowned Night HeronTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

As you can see from the second shot I was not successful at capturing this black-crowned night heron as it was flying to a log in front of me. Moving back was not an option without risking falling so I just took a chance. The photograph of the bird on the log is a fair image but tells nothing of the flight in (see below). I nearly had it all in the second photograph in the triptych, close but no cigar as they say.

Triptych

16 responses

  1. Don’t you just hate when that happens…I saw a beautiful heron flying against a stellar sunset…unfortunately when I clicked, I came up with a plucked chicken staggering on the water. It was all in the frame, but dang, it was ugly. : ) Your first shot is beautiful.

    Like

    March 4, 2016 at 7:53 am

  2. That first one is a very nice shot!

    Like

    March 4, 2016 at 9:45 am

  3. Those birds seem to move just a bit faster than the ability to move the camera and the lens. Even so you’ve captured some outstanding images of birds in motion – the whole bird no less.

    Like

    March 4, 2016 at 12:27 pm

    • Thanks. Just wanted to capture the way it sometimes works.

      Like

      March 4, 2016 at 1:02 pm

      • Oh, yes. It is good to reenforce that not everything that is captures is worth sharing. It helps bring things into reality. Perfect is what we try to show but….

        Liked by 1 person

        March 4, 2016 at 1:04 pm

  4. I echo Tim’s comment, it’s good to be humble about our work!

    Like

    March 4, 2016 at 5:44 pm

  5. Fantastic shot, Victor! Beautifully captured. I am a little jealous. Have yet to encounter a night heron. I love their green cousins.

    Like

    March 5, 2016 at 8:33 am

    • I know the feeling. I am fond of the greens as well one is on my business card.

      Like

      March 5, 2016 at 8:38 am

  6. What a clever compilation in the triptych.

    Like

    March 5, 2016 at 10:31 am

  7. Actually, Victor, i like this very much. There is room for the imagination.

    Like

    March 15, 2016 at 5:11 am

  8. Birds in flight. When we finally capture it it’s so great. I think the key is patience and luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 29, 2016 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

