Meadow Vole and a word about long lenses (Two Photographs)

Meadow VoleTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This was my first sighting of a meadow vole. It’s always exciting to come across a new animal. The little thing was moving in and out of the foliage. To get it in focus I needed to be at least five feet back due to the constraints of my lens, and I kept bumping into trees and shrubs, hence the imperfect focus. It is very useful to understand the limits of your lens, e.g. how close you can get to an object and have your subject be in focus. With wide-angle lenses that can be millimeters (fractions of an inch) from the front element you have to be careful. With long lens a general average is four to five feet. It is one of the disadvantages of longer lenses as there is only so much backing up you can do. I was trying hard to get a shot where you could see its very small paws.

Meadow Vole-2

 

8 responses

  1. Sue

    Wonderful, and I can see a little foot!

    Like

    March 19, 2016 at 4:47 am

  2. Second photo is perfect!

    Like

    March 19, 2016 at 7:25 am

  3. Oh this is so wonderful, thank you for sharing!

    Like

    March 19, 2016 at 11:13 am

  4. Dang, it’s a cute little thing. Great detailed capture, Victor.
    When I was a kid, one of these jumped out of the snow and ran up my ski, causing me to shriek! My friend caught it and I kept it as a pet. I called him’ Timmy Willie’ after the Beatrix Potter country mouse. Your photo made that memory just pop right up – thanks! 🙂

    Like

    March 19, 2016 at 11:29 am

Leave a Reply

