The Daring or Bold Jumping Spider (Two Photographs) and some words on Macro

Daring Bold Jumping Spider-2  To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This spider is called either daring or bold, depending on which book you are referencing. In my last two posts on macro, I spoke of where and when to find insects. Once having found them two technical issues arise; depth of field is one of them, and lighting  which will be covered in my next macro post. When you get close to things with any lens, depth of field shrinks at any given aperture. That is to say that f11 at five feet covers a lot more ground than at ten inches. Increasingly smaller apertures cannot solve that problem. After f11 or f16 you get a phenomenon called diffraction. This is a complicated phenomenon that leads to out of focus or soft photos (which is too bad because my old Nikon macro lens goes up to f64!). Focus stacking works with static objects. This is where you take a series of photos at narrow depth of field and either adjust the focus or move the camera until you have shots with every part of your subject in focus and then combine them. It’s not something I have tried often, as most insects are not static and the success rate without specialized equipment and software can be uneven. I know my lens and I stick to apertures between f11 and 16. I do not expect that range to capture everything but for the most part hand-held and on the move it works well for me.

Daring Bold Jumping Spider-3

15 responses

  1. Thanks for the macro lesson. Look forward to the one on lighting. Nice spider.

    Like

    March 20, 2016 at 4:05 am

  2. Victor, thank you for the information on depth of field in macro shooting – something to keep in the back of my mind when I try macro photography.

    The image of the spider is wonderful. You lead us into a world I don’t normally see. Thank you.

    Like

    March 20, 2016 at 1:09 pm

    • You’re welcome. This blog has been great to me forcing me to do more and explain more. Thanks

      Like

      March 20, 2016 at 3:19 pm

      • You’re welcome. What is said about teaching. Something to the effect of “you don’t know it well until you have to teach it.”

        Liked by 1 person

        March 20, 2016 at 5:03 pm

  3. Great photos, especially the first one .

    Like

    March 20, 2016 at 3:11 pm

  4. I think your photos are the only ones I actually smile at considering I don’t like spiders.

    Like

    March 24, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    • I didn’t either till I picked up close-up photography and met a few entomologists😀

      Liked by 1 person

      March 24, 2016 at 2:58 pm

      • There’s something about that which bugs me LOL! Sorry for the bad pun. 🙂

        Like

        March 24, 2016 at 4:17 pm

        • Just to add to your laugh, until I met an entomologist I was unaware that all bugs are insects but not all insects are bugs and spiders aren’t insects. One of those things that makes nature more like fstops and apertures😀 (confusing).

          Like

          March 24, 2016 at 4:21 pm

          • Now if I can just keep track of that. 😉 That’s interesting. I had no idea either. Thanks!

            Liked by 1 person

            March 24, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

